2018 Speakers

2018 Keynotes

Ras Baraka

City of Newark

Andy Berke

City of Chattanooga

Beth Noveck

Chief Innovation Officer
State of New Jersey

Martin O’Malley

61st Governor of Maryland and 47th Mayor of Baltimore

Bill Peduto

City of Pittsburgh

2018 Speakers

Stonly Baptiste

Urban Us

James Bean

Northeastern University

Brenna Berman

Executive Director
City Tech

Joel Bloom

New Jersey Institute of Technology

Bartosz Boncza

Associate Research Scientist
NYU Center for Urban Science and Progress

Dan Borok

Managing Partner, Newark Venture Partners

TC Burnett

Associate Director
Actionable Intelligence for Social Policy

Lisa Camp

Associate Dean, Strategic Initiatives, Engineering, Case Western Reserve University

Dan Correa

Strategic Advisor, Partnership for Public Service

Sylvie Doppelt

Sylvie Doppelt

Implementation Project Manager, NowPow

Mark Dowd

Mark Dowd

Executive Director, Smart Cities Lab

Jen Duthie

Division Manager, Arterial Management
City of Austin, Transportation Department

Tim Dye

Chief Executive Officer
TD Environmental Services

Natalie Evans Harris

Natalie Evans Harris

Founder, Harris Data Consulting; COO, BrightHive


Kelsey Finch

Policy Counsel, Future of Privacy Forum

Bill Fulton

Director, Kinder Institute for Urban Research
Rice University

Santi Garces

Chief Innovation Officer
City of South Bend


Angela Garretson

Chief External Affairs Officer, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Matt Gee

Co-founder & Director

Ryan Gerety

Tech Fellow
Ford Foundation

Rayid Ghani

Center for Data Science and Public Policy, University of Chicago

Aisha Glover

President & CEO
Newark Community Economic Development Corporation

David Graham

Deputy Chief Operating Officer
City of San Diego

Ben Green

Author, The Smart Enough City: Putting Technology in Its Place to Reclaim Our Urban Future

Heather Hardman

Innovation Design Manager
Grant Thornton, LLP

Meghan Houghton

Staff Associate, S&CC
National Science Foundation

Bill Howe

Founding Associate Director
UW eScience Institute

Tawana Johnson

Acting Chief Information Officer
City of Newark

Jason Jones

Analytics & Innovation Manager
Guilford County, NC

Beth Kauderer

Beth Kauderer

Associate Director
Columbia Technology Ventures

Christine Kendrick

Air Quality Lead/Smart Cities Coordinator
City of Portland, OR

Micah Kotch

Managing Director

Ramayya Krishnan

Dean, Heinz College
Carnegie Mellon University

Miroslav Krstic

Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
University of California, San Diego

Ioannis Kymissis

Professor of Electrical Engineering
Columbia University

Jason Lally

Data Services Manager
City and County of San Francisco

Debra Lam

Managing Director, Smart Cities & Inclusive Innovation
Georgia Tech

Andrei Lapets

Director, Research Development
Hariri Institute for Computing, BU

Nancy LeaMond

Executive Vice President for Social Impact

Karen Lightman

Executive Director, Metro21
Carnegie Mellon University

Kevin Martin

Smart Cities Manager
City of Portland

Signe-Mary McKernan

Vice President, Labor, Human Services, and Population
Urban Institute

Michael Mattmiller

Michael Mattmiller

Director, Government Affairs, Microsoft


Miriam McKinney

Analyst, Center for Government Excellence at Johns Hopkins University

Citi Medina

Citi Medina

Creative Director, MedinaCiti Firm

Julia Miller

Julia Miller

Statewide Intact Family Services Administrator, Illinois Department of Children & Family Services

Thomas Motyka

Senior Executive Director – Smart Infrastructure Innovation
New Jersey Innovation Institute

Chenad Navalkha

Chenab Navalkha

Researcher and Patient Educator, University of Chicago – Lindau Lab

Colin Newman

Vice President, Public Policy & Community Affairs
Audible, Inc. 

Andrew Nicklin

Director of Data Practices
Johns Hopkins University

Aileen Nowlan

Senior Manager, Environmental Defense Fund

Jennifer Park

Director of Certification & Community
What Works Cities

Karina Ricks

Director of Mobility and Infrastructure
City of Pittsburgh

Conor Riffle

Director of Smart Cities, Rubicon


Suzanne Rivera

VP, Research & Technology Management
Case Western Reserve University

Emily Robbins

MetroBridge Program Manager, Boston University

Paul Rothman

Senior Manager, NYC Mayor’s Office of the Chief Technology Officer

Samir Saini

IT Commissioner and City-wide Chief Innovation Officer, City of New York

Mina Sartipi

Lead Scientist for Smart Cities and Urban Science
University of Tennessee, Chattanooga 

Don Sebastian

President and CEO
New Jersey Innovation Institute

Michael Shaw

Program Officer, Human Services
Kresge Foundation

Bill Skerpan

Innovation and Analytics Manager
City of Boulder

Jonathan Sprinkle

Program Director, National Science Foundation

ken steif

Ken Steif

Program Director, Masters in Urban Spatial Analytics
University of Pennsylvania

Mike Stiehl

Mike Stiehl

Senior Policy Analyst, Chapin Hall


Sarah Stone

Executive Director, eScience Institute; University of Washington

Nick Tyler

Co-founder, Universal Composition Laboratory
University College London

John Verdi

Vice President of Policy
Future of Privacy Forum

Chris Watson

Planning Officer
City of Newark

Benjamin White

Benjamin White

Team Distribution Leader, PSEG

Emily Wiegand

Emily Wiegand

Researcher, Chapin Hall


Bill Yock

Chief Data Officer, County of Santa Clara

2018 Lightning Talk Presenters

Ari Anisfeld

Research Assistant, Center for Data Science & Public Policy
University of Chicago


Geoff Arnold

Senior Digital Services Analyst
City of Pittsburgh

Ariella Bak

Program Coordinator
City of Gainesville

Matthijs Bouw

Rockefeller Urban Resilience Fellow
University of Pennsylvania

Charlie Catlett

Director, Urban Center for Computation and Data
University of Chicago

Meghan Cook

Program Director, Center for Technology in Government
University at Albany


Branislav Dimitrijevic

Assistant Professor
New Jersey Institute of Technology


Carl DiSalvo

Associate Professor, Digital Media Program
Georgia Tech

Abhishek Dubey

Assistant Professor, Computer Science
Vanderbilt University

Ellen Dunham-Jones

Professor; Director, Urban Design Program
Georgia Tech

Jon Fink

Jonathan Fink

Director, Digital City Testbed Center
Portland State University

Dan Hoffman

Dan Hoffman

Assistant City Manager
City of Gainesville

julia koschinsky

Julia Koschinsky

Executive Director, Center for Spatial Data Science
University of Chicago

Yuan Lai

PhD Candidate & Graduate Research Assistant

Chris Le Dantec

Associate Professor, Digital Media Program
Georgia Tech

Kim Lucas

Civic Research Director, Mayor’s Office of New Urban Mechanics
City of Boston

Tony Luppino

Director, Entrepreneurship Programs
University of Missouri- Kansas City

Dan O’Brien

Co-Director, Boston Area Research Institute | Northeastern & Harvard Universities

Kyle Rakow

Vice President and National Director, AARP Driver Safety

Betsey Suchanic

Public Administration Fellow, Institute for Public Administration, University of Delaware


Eli Turkel

Research Assistant, Institute for Public Administration, University of Delaware

Mike Watson

Mike Watson

Senior Advisor, Livable Communities, AARP

Jason Whittet

Jason Whittet

Solutions Development and Innovation
100 Resilient Cities

%d bloggers like this: